AlbumsVA - Soundbombing I (Rawkus Presents)

25 January 2023
Author: odo
Views: 5 142, Comments: 1
  • 100
VA - Soundbombing I (Rawkus Presents)Name: VA - Soundbombing I (Rawkus Presents)
Genre: Rap | Hip-Hop
Year: 1997
Label: Rawkus Records
Featuring: Brick City Kids, Evil Dee, R.A. the Rugged Man, Indelible MCs (El-P, Bigg Jus, J-Treds & Juggaknots), Company Flow (Bigg Jus, El-P & Mr. Len), Sir Menelik aka Cyclops 4000, Shabaam Sahdeeq, Reflection Eternal (Talib Kweli & Hi-Tek), Mos Def, Mr. Man, L-Fudge, 8-Off (Agallah), Talib Kweli, Kool Keith, B-One, Mike Zoot, Skam, Black Attack aka Sean Black (of Missin' Linx)
Producers: Hi-Tek, DJ Spinna, Nick Wiz, El-P, Ghetto Professionals, Dirtman, Bigg Jus, Rich Boogie, Sir Menelik, Chuckie Madness, Shawn J Period
Format: mp3 | 320 kbps
Duration: 01:10:04
Size: 160 Mb
Description: CDRip

Hitting stores in mid-1997, "Soundbombing" arrived at a crucial juncture for rap music, just as the deaths of 2Pac and Notorious B.I.G. forced hip-hop to re-examine its priorities, and the commercial dominance of Bad Boy necessitated a smart, socially conscious alternative to P. Diddy's blatantly commercial brand of karaoke hip-pop. An DJ Evil Dee-mixed collection of early Rawkus singles, many of them originally available only on vinyl (in keeping with the company's hip-hop purism), "Soundbombing" announces Rawkus as the anti-Bad Boy, taking its cues from hip-hop iconoclasts like Ultramagnetic MCs and Brand Nubian rather than the commercial kings of the day. The influence of Kool Keith is felt most heavily early on, with artists like Company Flow and the Indelible MCs paying tribute to Keith's
unique brand of bizarre, stream of consciousness hip-hop before Keith himself pops up on "So Intelligent" alongside kindred spirit Sir Menelik. The second half of the disc is dominated by the soon to be famous trio of Reflection Eternal (Talib Kweli and DJ Hi-Tek) and Mos Def, who would soon team up with Kweli to form Black Star.
Early Def solo tracks like "If You Can Huhh" and "Universal Magnetic" find the future superstar rocking over uncharacteristically spare, Jay Dee-inspired grooves, while "Fortified Live" and "Freestyle" show off Def and Kweli's burgeoning chemistry. But "Soundbombing" doesn't really hit its peak until its final track, "2000 Seasons", a
somber, melancholy, and unforgettable Reflection Eternal song that offers an early glimpse of the quiet, politically minded b-boy revolution Black Star, Reflection Eternal, Mos Def, and Rawkus would go on to lead over the course of the next few years

[01:17] 01. Brick City Kids & Evil Dee - Intro [Prod. Ghetto Professionals]
[02:12] 02. R.A. the Rugged Man - Flipside [Prod. Dirtman]
[04:52] 03. Indelible MCs (El-P, Bigg Jus, J-Treds & Juggaknots) - Fire in Which You Burn [Prod. El-P]
[03:13] 04. Company Flow - Lune TNS [Prod. Bigg Jus]
[04:04] 05. Sir Menelik aka Cyclops 4000 - Night Work [Prod. El-P]
[04:13] 06. Shabaam Sahdeeq - Arabian Nights [Prod. Nick Wiz]
[05:11] 07. Reflection Eternal - Fortified Live feat. Mos Def & Mr. Man [Prod. Hi-Tek]
[03:55] 08. L-Fudge - Show Me Your Gratitude [Prod. Rich Boogie]
[04:10] 09. R.A. the Rugged Man - Till My Heart Stops feat. 8-Off (Agallah) [Prod. Dirtman]
[04:38] 10. Mos Def & Talib Kweli - Freestyle
[04:11] 11. Sir Menelik aka Cyclops 4000 - So Intelligent feat. Kool Keith [Prod. Sir Menelik]
[04:06] 12. B-One - Empire Staters [Prod. Chuckie Madness]
[03:44] 13. Mos Def - If You Can Huh... [Prod. Shawn J Period]
[04:07] 14. Mos Def - Universal Magnetic [Prod. Shawn J Period]
[05:27] 15. L-Fudge - What If feat. Mike Zoot, Talib Kweli, Shabaam Sahdeeq & Skam [Prod. DJ Spinna]
[03:40] 16. Black Attack aka Sean Black (of Missin' Linx) - My Crown [Prod. Ghetto Professionals]
[06:56] 17. Reflection Eternal - 2000 Seasons [Prod. Hi-Tek]
#1 LoveJazz 30 October 2010 16:05
послушаю обязательно, спс 5+

The White Room


Users of Guest are not allowed to comment this publication.